Posted by: Eddie | August 4, 2009

True Blood: Kinda Dumb, Very Sexy, Lots of Fun

After having posted on another Alan Ball series, just thought I’d mention how much I’m enjoying True Blood.  It may not have the depth of a Six Feet Under or a Sopranos, but it sure is tons of melodramatic fun.  After the first few episodes I wasn’t sure if I was happy with how much they’re diverging from the books (all of which I’ve read and loved), but I think they’ve done a wonderful balancing act of mixing faithfulness to certain characters and events with some changes, elaborations, and new storylines that keep it fresh and exciting even if you have recently read the books.  I’m a bit disappointed with the Dallas vampires overall (my mental images from the books were very vivid), but other than that I’ve liked the changes they’ve made. (Lafayette staying around, a much larger role for Maryann, etc.)

And, of course, the beautiful people. For the most part people are realistically good looking, and there’s a nice variety of types. (I find Jason’s oh-too-pretty-for-words looks less interesting than Sam, Hoyt, Eggs (whose body is amazing but who has a ‘real’ face) and of course Bill.)  I think Alan Ball and I have similar tastes in what’s sexy in a man because DAMN there are lots of attractive men on this show.

In many ways it feels like a throw-back to the soap operas and serials of decades ago. The teaser and cliff-hanger endings are lots of fun, and the melodrama is layered on with a very generous trowel. But, that’s a good thing. It’s wonderful (mostly) silly escapism and I’m having an absolute blast watching it.

Oh, and I can’t wait to see who plays Alcide and how they dive into that whole storyline down the road.  In the meantime, I’m already eager for the next episode!

Leave a Reply

Categories

